Query on set up this project on local pc

Post here to discuss topics relate to the 4.x version for the ASP Football Pool software program. All support topics should go here.
Vincent

Query on set up this project on local pc

Post by Vincent »

Hi guys,

I am new to this ASP football and forum, and I have some silly question to ask if you could bear with me...

I want to set up the ASP football on my local pc and I couldn't seem manage to do that.
I have downloaded the whole project, unzipped it to my local drive. I have also read the setup instruction on the Config file.
In my case, I think I don't need to change anything in the Config file as I want it run with all default value.
Hence I was trying to open the default.asp file in IE, hoping to see it works similar to the demo.
But the page couldn't be displayed. Thr err msg is: The website cannot display the page.

May I know how could I set up this on my local drive? I seem can't see such question in this forum, do you guys are all putting the project on internet directly?
Sorry if my question is stupid, as I am totally new to setting up website. Thank you very much in advance!

Regards,

Vincent
philwojo

Re: Query on set up this project on local pc

Post by philwojo »

You would need to setup your PC to be an .ASP Web server to do that, which wouldn't be that easy to do. Why don't you want it on the Internet how does it do you any good having only on your PC, no one else but you can get on your PC.

Phil
Vincent

Post by Vincent »

Hi Phil,

Thank you for your reply. As you know I am quite new to this, I would like to try it on my PC first, to have a better understanding of it before I put it on the internet.
I forgot to mention that I have installed the IIS and put the folder in wwwroot, however, still no luck.

I understand that it wouldn't be easy to setup my pc to be an .ASP web server, which is also why I want to learn that.